favorite
favorite
hide
unhide
flag

Posted

print

$523 Northgate Park cute 2 bedroom/1 bath (Durham)

123456
Edgewood Dr near Farthing St

(google map)

available jun 30

cats are OK - purrr
dogs are OK - wooof
furnished
house
laundry in bldg
no smoking
off-street parking
no private bath
private room

Bedroom for rent in cute 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom Northgate Park home, definitely available starting August 1st, or anytime in July is an option too! The bedroom is about 14 ft x 10.5 ft, not including a nice size walk-in closet, gets good light, and has hardwood floors. There are two separate front doors so you get your own personal entrance and a parking spot (in a very tight space so you must park considerately). Rent is $522.50 (deposit the same) plus half of utilities. All lawn work included and you could definitely garden if you wanted.

There is a washer and dryer, dishwasher, and central heat/air in the house. I've got a cat so if you have a cat or dog, they must get along well with my cat and will most likely require a pet fee and approval through Apple (my realty company). Apple will also probably ask you for proof of income and/or run a background check (sorry about that--I have no say in the matter).

I'm not a super clean freak but I like when the house has a base-level of cleanliness. For example, sometimes I will do a big baking project for a loved one but will run out of spoons and my dishes might sit in the sink for a day. But luckily we have a double sink and I would keep the other sink free of my dishes. (I'm a spoonie, aka have chronic illness, so that definitely affects when I'm able clean, work, etc.) You don't have to be a clean freak either (and honestly if you are, you probably wouldn't be happy living with me) but you must be willing to pitch in around the house, keep common areas fairly clean, and clean up after yourself. I mostly work from home (writer/editor) but also often housesit at least once a month or am out of town for a couple weeks at a time, so I'm either home a lot or not at all. :)

I'm quite introverted in my home and honestly hardly use the living room at all (my cat uses it more than me, lol) and over the years I've enjoyed friendly interactions with my housemates but mostly keep to myself.

Because I'm chemically sensitive you must be willing to use only natural dish soap and laundry detergent and absolutely no dryer sheets. I can only live with non-smokers and those who don't wear a lot of scents. (i.e. scented lotion is usually okay but if you come home smelling like smoke or use cologne, my health doesn't tolerate those things, sorry about that.)

Also I'm an environmentalist at heart--along those lines, I don't crank the a/c down very low in the summer or the heat up super high in the winter--I like to keep it so that it's comfortable and there are ceiling fans which help too (currently I keep the a/c at 76 during the day, 72 at night). To let me know that you're on board with keeping utility costs down and using only natural dish soap and laundry detergent, please mention this in your message to me.

This house is adorable and in a lovely neighborhood and tucked away behind a duplex so it's pretty quiet and private and I've loved living here enough to stay another year, but it's not without its quirks. One is that the washer/dryer is in your bedroom. Luckily I don't do laundry very often (usually save it up to do at my housesits) and I would coordinate with you when you'll be out of the house when I do need to do a load. Another quirk is that the house seems to have very little to no insulation so it doesn't hold heat very well in the winter.

My cat is also quirky--he's getting old and has some health problems so sometimes he gets confused and meows (this doesn't last too long, I do my best to quiet him, but he is a cat after all so I figured it's worth mentioning since you'll have to live with it, especially since when I'm out of town or at a housesit, I'm not there to quiet him). He is, however, quite the little love and lives for cuddles and only ever wants to sleep atop people and get pet. So if you're a cat-lover who always wanted an affectionate (and not even slightly aloof) cat in your life, you're in luck! ;) Most of the time he just sleeps and would love to curl up on your lap but if you’re not a cat person, no worries, he’s content with mine. :)

I'm mostly sober and not a partier and because of my health, I need to live in a quiet, peaceful environment. Your room is unfurnished but the rest of the house is furnished. However, I'm in the process of seriously downsizing so let me know if you have any furniture you'd like to move in and let's see if it works!

Any questions? Please ask! I'm friendly, respectful, queer, anti-racist, intersectional feminist and enjoy living with folks with similar values. Write me and tell me a bit about yourself, what you're looking for, etc. Thanks! :)
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6918887500

posted:

updated:

best of [?]